Air
Air Curtain Incinerators - General Title V Air Permit

What Activities Require This Permit? Air curtain incinerators (ACIs) that burn greater than 35 tons per day of only
100 percent wood waste, 100 percent clean lumber, and/or 100 percent mixture of wood waste, clean lumber and/or
yard waste. Facilities eligible for general Title V air quality permits must meet certain conditions and emissions must be
below thresholds established by rule.

What Is the Purpose of This Permit? To reduce adverse effects of industrial and other activities on air quality and to
protect the health of the citizens of North Carolina.

Who Issues This Permit? N.C. Division of Air Quality (DAQ), Title V Permitting Section, Raleigh Central Office.

How Much Will This Permit Cost? Fees for General Title V Air Permits for ACIs burning only the clean biomass listed
above are 10 percent of the otherwise applicable fee.

A full list of current annual and application fees can be found under “Permit Fees” at the following:
https://deg.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality/air-quality-permits/modifying-applying-for-air-quality-permit.

What Are My Payment Options for Permit Application Fees? Currently the DAQ accepts checks as well as
ePayments for payment of the Permit Application Fees.

If Paying by Check, Whom do I Make the Check Payable to and Where Do I Send the Check? Permit
Application Fees are to be submitted with the completed application. The application will be considered incomplete for
processing until the fee is received. The check should be made payable to the Department of Environmental Quality
(DEQ). Please note: The Raleigh Central Office Permitting Section (address provided below) processes the general Title V
air quality permit applications for ACIs.

Attn: Mark Cuilla, Chief, Permitting Section
Division of Air Quality

1641 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1641

If paying by ePayment, visit: https://deg.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality/air-quality-permitting/ag-epayments-
application The application will be considered incomplete for processing until the online payment is received.

Where Can I Get the Application for This Permit?
Apply Online: https://portal.deg.nc.gov/my-account/login

Or download application forms: https://www.deg.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality/air-quality-
permitting/modifying-or-applying-air-quality-permit/general-air-quality-permits

How Long Will It Take to Review My Application? The director shall issue or deny the permit within 90 days of
receipt of a complete application or 10 days after receipt of requested additional information, whichever is later.

Where Do I Submit My Application?

Apply Online: https://portal.deqg.nc.gov/my-account/login

Or submit to the DAQ Regional Office appropriate for your location:

https: //www.deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality/about-air-quality/dag-organizational-
structure/air-quality-regional-offices.

How Long Is My Permit or License or Certificate Valid? General Title V Air Permits are issued for five years.

Notes/Comments: In regard to application submittal, the application fee, responsible official, appropriate number of
copies and zoning consistency must be addressed before an application can be considered complete.

All DAQ permits are subject to renewals.
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Air
Air Curtain Incinerators - General Title V Air Permit
Legal Authority/Statute Reference: G.S. 150B-21, 143-213 to 215

Links: https://deg.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality

Statewide Contact Information:

NC Division of Air Quality
Permitting Section

1641 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, NC 27699-1641
Telephone: (919) 707-8400
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