

### North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries COMMERCIAL FISHING VESSEL REGISTRATION (CFVR) APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS (REV 2024-12)

This application is to be completed and signed by individuals applying for a Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration. Businesses requesting a license must have the Responsible Party (business agent) complete and sign the application. The Responsible Party is the person who coordinates, supervises, or otherwise directs operations of a business entity, such as a corporate officer or executive-level supervisor of business operations and is the person responsible for use of the issued License in compliance with applicable laws and regulations. Individuals applying for a license for another under the authority of Power of Attorney must submit a **PHOTOCOPY** of the Power of Attorney and current picture identification.

# **Eligibility Requirements:**

This registration is required for any vessel used in a commercial fishing operation in the coastal fishing waters of the state.

Provide a **PHOTOCOPY** of <u>one</u> of the following current picture identifications:

• Driver's License; or

- Passport; or
- State Identification (issued by DMV); or
- Resident Alien Card (green card)

• Military Identification; or

If you are applying as a business, you <u>must</u> provide:

- If incorporated, a PHOTOCOPY of Articles of Incorporation and list of current corporate holders.
- If organization, a **PHOTOCOPY** of the Articles of Organization and list of current corporate holders.
- If written agreement partnership, a **PHOTOCOPY** of written partnership agreement.
- If <u>not</u> incorporated, an organization, or written partnership, a **PHOTOCOPY** of current Assumed Name Statements filed with the Register of Deeds in your county, and a **PHOTOCOPY** of business privilege tax certificates, if applicable.
- Current annual reports for LLC or INC

# A Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration Application:

- All surveys must be completed.
- Sign and date the Application.
- Complete the NC DMF License Certification Statement Form. It must be notarized if applying for a new license.
- A **PHOTOCOPY** of valid vessel state registration or U.S. Coast Guard Vessel documentation. If applying for a transfer of ownership and the U.S. Coast Guard Vessel documentation is pending, a notarized bill of sale will be accepted.

### Fees:

- See Commercial License and Permit Fee Sheet. If you need assistance, please contact any NC DMF License Office or call (252) 515-5500 or (800) 682-2632. Replacement Fee: There is a \$10.00 fee for replacing current/valid license.
- Method of payment: Personal check, Money Order, Cashier check, Cash (In person only), or Credit Card (In person only). Make payable to North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries. There will be a \$35.00 service charge for returned checks.

You are required to notify the Division of Marine Fisheries of any address or residency changes within 30 days. Incomplete applications submitted without required documentation will be deemed incomplete and returned to you unprocessed.

Mail to: North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries License Office PO Box 769 Morehead City, NC 28557

a series	CC	OMMERCI	AL FISHING \	VESSEL RE	EGISTRATIO	ON (CI	FVR) APPI	LICATIO	N (REV	2024-12)
FIST	Select One: I	□ New Ap	plication E	∃ Renew	🗆 Repla	ace	□ Update	e and/or	Change	of Vessel Master
Is this fishing	vessel used	for (select	one) E	Commerc	ial [	□ For-	Hire D	∃ Both		
(This number is	s printed on the line Registration and	icense to the	right of the words	Commercial						
Select On	e: 🗆 Indi	vidual			Business /	Agent	:			
Individual or Participant I.I		ent Partici First Nam	oant Informatio	on Middle	Name		ast Name			Suffix
		Thornan	6	Middle	Nume		astruance			
Participant I.I	).	Business	Name:			S	State of Inco	rporation:		Charter State:
Business Ow	ner Name (F, I	M, L)	Business Ow	/ner/Agent Na	ame (F, M, L)	В	Business Ow	ner/Agent	t Name (I	F, M, L)
Check One: Driver's Licer	nse 🗆	State I.D.		Military I.D	. 🗆	Resi	dent Alien I.	D. 🗖	Passpo	ort 🗖
No.			Expire Da							
Date of Birth		Primary R	esidence (State	e)		E-ma	ail Address			
/	_/									
Race	Gender:	Physical A	Address			Maili addro		Chec	k if same	e as physical
	M / F									
Height	Weight	Address 1	:			Addr	ess 1:			
		Address 2	).			Addr	ess 2:			
Eye Color	Hair Color	City:	State	: Zip:		City:		State:	Z	íp:
		County:		Country:		Cour	nty:		Countr	y:
Home Phone	Home Phone: Business Phon		ness Phone:		Fax:			Cellular	Phone:	
		) -		( )	_		( )			
( ) -									-	

North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries

Type of Business Entity (Circle One): Corporation

Partnership Sole Proprietorship

Organization



### North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries COMMERCIAL FISHING VESSEL REGISTRATION (CFVR) APPLICATION (REV 2024-12)

#### Complete Required Vessel Information, Vessel Survey, Vessel Owner Survey, Economic Survey and Gear Survey Sections. THIS INFORMATION IS REQUIRED! IF INCOMPLETE, APPLICATION WILL NOT BE PROCESSED AND WILL BE RETURNED

Vessel Information	
Vessel Name:	Homeport:
	Expire Date
US Customs #:	/ / Vessel Year Built:
	Expire Date
State Registration #:	/ / Hull ID:
Vessel Length:	Vessel Manufacturer:
Port of Landing:	Carrying Capacity:
FH-County of Landing	Vessel Gross Tons:

### **Vessel Survey**

Total Horsepower					
Number of Engines:					
Propulsion:	Outboard	□ Inboard	☐ Inboard/Outboard	□ Other	
Hull Material:	☐ Fiberglass	□ Wood	□ Aluminum	□ Steel	□ Other
Engine Type:	🛛 Gas	Diesel	□ Other		

# Vessel Owner Information Survey (please select one of the following Owner designations)

Owner and Master
Owner, but not Master
Master

### Economic Survey (must be completed by Responsible Party)

First Name	Middle Name	Last Name	At least 50% of income derived from commercial fishing?
			□ YES □ NO



# North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries COMMERCIAL FISHING VESSEL REGISTRATION (CFVR) APPLICATION (REV 2024-12)

<u>Gear Survey</u>-Please complete the following with an accurate account of gear actually used, not owned, the previous year. This information is used by our biologists to estimate effort in specific fisheries and is not available on trip tickets.

Check all that apply:	Min – Max Yds	Yards fished
□ Beach Seine	100 - 2,000	Yds.
□ Swipe Net	50 – 3,000	Yds.
☐ Haul Seine	50 – 3,000	Yds.
Common Seine	5 – 200	Yds.
□ Purse Seine	100 – 1,000	Yds.
Channel Net	10 - 40	Yds.

Check all that apply:	Min – Max Nets	Combined Headrope Length
Butterfly Net	1 - 2	Ft.
Skimmer Trawl	1 - 2	Ft.
Crab Trawl	1 - 2	Ft.
☐ Flounder Trawl	1 - 2	Ft.
Scallop Trawl	1 - 2	Ft.
□ Shrimp Trawl	1 - 4	Ft.
Clam Trawl Kicking	1	Ft.
☐ Flynet	1	Ft.

Check all that apply:	Min – Max Sets	Number Set
□ Shrimp Pound	1 – 100	
□ Fyke Net	1 – 100	

Check all that apply:	Min – Max Yds	Yards Fished
Gill Net Set (float)	50 – 3,000	Yds.
Gill Net (drift)	50 – 3,000	Yds.
Gill Net (runaround)	50 – 3,000	Yds.
Gill Net Set (sink)	50 - 3,000	Yds.

Gigs
------

Check all that apply:	Min – Max Reels	No. of Reels used per trip
□ Rod-n-Reel	1 - 10	
Check all that apply:	Min - Max Lines	No. of Lines pulled per trip
	1 - 8	

Check all that apply:	Min - Max Hooks	Number of Hooks set
Longline Surface	100 – 3,000	
Longline Bottom	100 – 2,000	
Longline Shark	100 – 2,000	
Trotline	5 - 200	

Check all that apply:	Min - Max Hooks	Number of Hooks set
Turtle Hooks	1 - 50	

Check all that apply:	Min - Max Pots	Number Fished
Conch Pot	1 – 100	
□ Fish Pot	1 - 200	
Turtle Pot	1 – 100	
Crab Pot	1 – 1,000	
Peeler Pot	1 – 1,000	
Eel Pot*	1 – 600	

\*Use of eel pots requires submission of monthly logbooks.



I.

### North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries LICENSE APPLICATION CERTIFICATION FORM (REV 2024-12)

# Certification Statement (This section must be completed by applicant)

OFFICE US	E ONLY	Year
PID # License #		
DMF Staff:		
CA/CC/CH	BANK_	
CH#	AMT	

 All the information provided on this application and any supporting documentation provided is true, accurate, and complete. And further, for renewals, any changes in information or supporting documents have been provided at the time of renewal. I understand that any false information or fraudulent disclosures may result in termination of appropriate licenses, permits

and related documents, revocation or suspension of marine fisheries licensing and other privileges, and in possible criminal prosecution.

2.	I am a resident of the State of :

If claiming resident status in North Carolina, I certify further that (check one):

L	J
ſ	 1

 I have been a legal resident for more than six months, or

If domiciled in North Carolina between 60 days and six months, I have completed and submitted with this application a notarized Certificate of Eligibility for North Carolina Residency.

certify that:

3. If applying for a Standard or Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License as a North Carolina Resident, I also certify that *(check the appropriate entry)*:

I filed a North Carolina State Income Tax Return for the previous calendar or tax year.

I was not required to file a North Carolina State Income Tax Return for the previous calendar or tax year.

I understand if there are any questions regarding the filing of a North Carolina State Income Tax Return, I may have to provide appropriate tax records, as requested by the Division of Marine Fisheries.

- 4. For commercial fishing licenses, endorsements or registrations I certify that:
  - a) I currently have no marine fisheries licenses, permits, endorsements, or registrations under suspension or revocation and the privilege to hold such licenses, permits, endorsements, or registrations is not revoked or suspended.
  - b) I have not been convicted of four or more violations in any jurisdiction related to state or federal law or regulations involving or related to marine or estuarine resources during the previous three years.
- 5. NC General Statute §113-221 requires the NC Division of Marine Fisheries to provide a current copy of the rules governing activities authorized by the license you are purchasing. You have the right to request a current rulebook in hardbound. The document is available on the Division of Marine Fisheries website on the "Rules and Regulations" webpage at <a href="https://deg.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries/rules-proclamations-and-size-and-baq-limits/rules">https://deg.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries/rules-proclamations-and-size-and-baq-limits/rules</a>.
- 6. For for-hire fishing licenses and endorsements, I affirm that I have liability insurance and that I am knowledgeable of USCG safety requirements for the vessel(s) used in the operation in accordance with G.S. 113-168.6.
- 7. If application is for a Standard/Retired Commercial Fishing License with a Shellfish Endorsement or a Shellfish License for NC Residents I affirm that I have received the required harvester training.
- 8. For Ocean Fishing Pier License, linear length of the pier and responsible parties has not changed.
- 9. If applying for a Land or Sell License, I also certify that: (check the appropriate entry)
  - I have a commercial fishing license issued by the state of \_\_\_\_\_\_ (Other than North Carolina).

I have a federal permit that allows commercial fishing.

Signature of Applicant:	Date:	
NOTARY (Only NEW applications must be notarized	)	
State:	County:	
Sworn to and Subscribed before me this	_day and year of	,
Notary Public:	My Commission expires:	