N.C. Oil and Gas Commission

Minutes of the March 14, 2018 Orientation Session

Dr. Kenneth Taylor, State Geologist and OGC Staff Director opened the meeting at 1:00 PM and read the Ethics Statement.

The Meeting Agenda was given to all Commissioners and the meeting proceeded in that order.

Present were Stanford D. Baird, Victor Gaglio, Rhonda R. Jones, John T. Lucey, Jr., Robert C. Reinhardt, Michael C. Stone, And James K, Womack. The Commission Counsel Phillip T. Reynolds

The Honorable Senator Ron Rabin administered the Oath of Office to the seven (7) commissioners who have been confirmed.

Dr. Taylor introduced the Commission staff members: Dr. Taylor, Joyce Sanford, Toby Vinson, Jennifer Mundt, Timothy Webster, and Jay Osborne.

Dr. Taylor then reviewed administrative issues with the commissioners: Required I-9 form for claiming Per Diem; the commissioners' DENR e-mail addresses; the requirement of each commissioner to submit their Statement of Economic Interest (SEI) by April 16, 2018; reminder for required on-line ethics training; a set of Oil and Gas Rules and Current Oil and Gas Statutes.

Mr. Reynolds, Commission Counsel then presented training on Public Records and Open Meetings Law in North Carolina.

Dr. Taylor presided over the elections of the Commission Chair and Commission Vice Chair. The results of the elections were James K. Womack, Jr. – Commission Chair and Robert C. Reinhardt – Commission Vice Chair. Dr. Taylor passed the gavel to the Chair who then presided over the meeting.

Chairman Womack asked for the staff to update the Commission on a number of issues: Restoration of the MEC webpage on the NC DEQ website, Commission Standard Operating Guidelines (SOG), MEC unfinished business, complaints, and training on the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) i.e. Rule Making. Dr. Taylor said he would present a response at the next meeting.

Sixteen persons signed in for the meeting

Meeting adjourned at 2:12 PM.