Waste (Solid) Transfer Station Permit

What Activities Require This Permit? The construction and operation of a solid waste management facility for the acceptance, handling and transferring of municipal solid waste as defined in North Carolina General Statute 130A or North Carolina Administrative Code Title 15A Subchapter 13B.

What Is The Purpose of This Permit? To ensure the site, construction and operation of solid waste management facilities meet all applicable federal and state regulatory requirements.

Who Issues This Permit? N.C. Division of Waste Management, Solid Waste Section – Permitting Branch.

How Much Will This Permit Cost? A schedule of permitting fees may be found at the following link: <u>https://edocs.deq.nc.gov/WasteManagement/DocView.aspx?id=1819278&dbid=0&repo=WasteManagement&</u>. Please do not send fee with application. The Solid Waste Section will send an invoice for the application fee once the application is received and accepted. Additional information regarding permit types, definitions, and fees listed in North Carolina General Statute 130A-295.8(b), (c) and (d) can be found at the following link: <u>http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/ByArticle/Chapter 130A/Article 9.html</u>.

What Are My Payment Options for Permit Application Fees? Invoices may be paid by check or electronically by echeck or credit card at <u>NC DEQ SWS ePayments</u>.

If Paying by Check, Who do I Make the Check Payable to and Where Do I Send the Check? Make Check payable to: NCDEQ, Solid Waste Section. Mail to: N.C. Division of Waste Management, Solid Waste Section – Permitting Branch, 1646 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1646.

Where Can I Get The Application For This Permit? The Section does not provide application forms. Rather, application requirements are listed in rules. Rules and further information may be found using the following links: <u>Solid Waste Management Rules</u> (Rules specific to Transfer Stations start at 15A NCAC 13B .0400) <u>https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/waste-management/solid-waste-section</u>

How Long Will It Take To Review My Application? As indicated in North Carolina General Statute 130A-295.8(e), the division will make a determination on completeness within 90 days of receipt of the application. The division shall issue a draft permit decision on an application for a permit within one year after the division determines that the application is complete.

Where Do I Submit My Application? One (1) electronic copy of the application should be emailed to the appropriate <u>Permitting Engineer</u> or to <u>Sherri.Stanley@deq.nc.gov</u>. If requested by the Section, a hard copy of the application or of the associated drawings can be mailed to N.C. Division of Waste Management, Solid Waste Section – Permitting Branch, 1646 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1646.

How Long Is My Permit or License or Certificate Valid? A permit issued for a transfer station is issued for the lifeof-site (LOS). LOS is the period, not to exceed 60 years, from the initial receipt of solid waste at the facility until the final closure is approved.

Notes/Comments: All engineering plans and specifications submitted for approval must be prepared by a North Carolina registered professional engineer.

Legal Authority/Statute Reference: North Carolina General Statute Chapter 130A – Article 9. https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/waste-management/waste-management-rules/solid-waste-rules

Link: https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/waste-management/solid-waste-section

Statewide Contact Information:

NC Division of Waste Management Solid Waste Section - Permitting Branch 1646 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1646 Telephone: (919) 707-8200

NC DEQ Permit Directory