Water Water Withdrawal & Transfer Registration

What Activities Require This Permit? This is a registration, rather than a permit. A registration is required for any non-agricultural water user who withdraws 100,000 gallons or more in any one day of groundwater or surface water or who transfers 100,000 gallons or more in any one day of surface water from one river basin to another river basin. Registration is also required for any agricultural water user who withdraws 1 million gallons or more in any one day of groundwater or surface water or or surface water or who transfers 1 million gallons or more in any one day of none river basin to another river basin.

What Is The Purpose of This Permit? Water supply planning and management require an understanding of both the available water resources and the demands being placed on those resources. Registration information will be used to develop a more complete understanding of water use and availability in North Carolina. The registration data will also be incorporated into the North Carolina State Water Supply Plan. By reporting water withdrawals annually, water users will establish a record of the amount of water they need for future resource management.

Who Issues This Permit? N.C. Division of Water Resources is the one who receives the registration. No permit is issued, as this is a registration process.

How Much Will This Permit Cost? There is a \$50 registration fee for non-agricultural water users registering for the first time. Agricultural water users registering for the first time are exempt from this fee. Previously registered water users updating registrations are also exempt from this fee.

What Are My Payment Options for Registrations Application Fees?

Payment can be made either by check/money order. Credit card transactions are not accepted.

If Paying by Check, Who do I Make the Check Payable to and Where Do I Send the Check? Checks and registration forms can be mailed to: NC Division of Water Resources, Water Withdrawal Registration, 1611

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1611. All checks are made payable to: NCDEQ-Division of Water Resources.

Where Can I Get The Application For This Permit? Forms for registration are available at the following link: <u>http://www.ncwater.org/Permits and Registration/Water Withdrawal and Transfer Registration/page/faq</u> (look for "Forms" in the right-hand column).

How Long Will It Take To Review My Application? Not applicable.

Where Do I Submit My Application? Checks and registration forms can be mailed to: NC Division of Water Resources, Water Withdrawal Registration, 1611 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1611. All checks are made payable to: NCDEQ-Division of Water Resources.

How Long Is My Permit or License or Certificate Valid? Existing registrations are required to report water withdrawals by April 1st for the previous year.

Notes/Comments: This is a registration, rather than a permit. The due date for registering withdrawals and transfers is as follows: new withdrawals must be registered within two months of the initiation of the withdrawal. Any person who is required to register a water transfer or withdrawal under this section and fails to do so shall pay, in addition to the registration fee required under G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1a) and G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1b), a civil penalty of one hundred dollars (\$100.00). A person who is required to update a registration under this section and fails to do so shall pay a civil penalty of fifty dollars (\$50.00). For each willful action or failure to act for which a penalty may be assessed under this subsection, the Commission may consider each day the action or inaction continues after notice is given of the violation as a separate violation.

Legal Authority/Statute Reference: G.S. 143-215.22H; Session Law 2008-143, Section 1.e

Link: http://www.ncwater.org/Permits and Registration/Water Withdrawal and Transfer Registration/

NC DEQ Permit Directory

Continued

Water Water Withdrawal & Transfer Registration

Statewide Contact Information:

NC Division of Water Resources 1611 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1611 Telephone: (919) 707-9000 Fax: (919) 733-3558