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Disposal of Natural Disaster Debris
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Open burning should always be a last resort.



3

Why Limit Open Burning?

Department of Environmental Quality

• Smoke from open burning activities pollutes the air and is 
unhealthy to breathe. 

• Potential health effects include: 
Lung and eye irritation
Heart problems
Headaches, dizziness 
Asthma attacks
Coughing and wheezing

• Sensitive groups (e.g., asthmatics, elderly, etc.) are 
particularly at risk from breathing fine particles from open 
burning activities over an extended period of time.
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Why Limit Open Burning?
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NC Open Burning Rules
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North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC), Title 15A, 
Subchapter 2D, Section .1900 – Open Burning  

• One of North Carolina’s oldest air quality rules

• First adopted in 1971

• Regulates outdoor open burning

• Sets conditions for allowable fires

• Prohibits burning of synthetic materials

• Violators can be fined up to $25,000 per day per violation
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NC Open Burning Rules
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Restrictions for residential open burning in NC include: 

• Only leaves, branches, and other vegetative growth can 
be burned… nothing else.  

• No synthetic (man-made) materials can be burned.

• All materials burned must originate on the property.

• Open burning is not allowed in areas with public pickup.

• No burning on Air Quality Action Days (Code Orange or 
higher).

• Burning should be conducted during daylight hours 
(officially 8:00 am to 6:00 pm).
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NC Open Burning Rules
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Restrictions for land clearing open burning in NC include: 

• Only land-cleared plant growth material can be burned… 
nothing else.  

• Construction, demolition, and synthetic materials should 
be separated out.

• May use kerosene or diesel fuel to start fire.

• At least a 500-foot buffer must be maintained between 
each burn pile and the closest occupied dwelling.

• 500-foot requirement can be waived by regional office with 
submittal of waiver form or use of an air curtain burner. 
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NC Open Burning Rules
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Restrictions for land clearing open burning in NC include: 

• Wind direction must be away from any public roadway 
within 250 feet of burn pile.

• Burning should be conducted during daylight hours 
(officially 8:00 am to 6:00 pm).

• No burning on Air Quality Action Days (Code Orange or 
higher).

• Materials should not be transported offsite to burn except 
in special cases.
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NC Open Burning Rules
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Other types of open burning activities addressed under NC 
rules include:

• Camp fires / cooking fires / ceremonial fires

• Forestry / wildlife / agricultural management activities

• Fire-fighting personnel training 

• Fire-fighting equipment testing and research

• Disposal of dangerous materials

• Disposal of material generated from natural disasters 
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Open Burning of 
Natural Disaster Debris
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• Open burning should always be a last resort.

• Air curtain burners may be necessary in federally 
designated disaster areas.  

• Time period of burning may be limited to nine months.

• Burning must be preapproved by the appropriate regional 
office air quality supervisor.

• Written notification for approval must be submitted to the 
appropriate regional office.

• Sufficient documentation must be provided showing that 
there is no other practical method of disposal.
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Open Burning of 
Natural Disaster Debris
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• Regional office supervisor shall consider the following 
factors before granting permission to burn natural disaster 
debris: type, amount, and nature of combustible 
substances, and the location of the burning.

• Regional office supervisor shall not grant permission for 
the burning of any debris if the primary purpose of the fire 
is to dispose of synthetic materials or refuse or to recover 
salvageable materials. 

• Open burning of natural disaster debris must also comply 
with the land clearing and/or air curtain burner 
requirements in the NC open burning rules.
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Air Curtain Burners
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Air Curtain Burners
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Restrictions for air curtain burner use in NC include:

• Only vegetative material originating onsite may be burned.

• Wind direction must be away from any public road within 
250 feet of burn pile.

• At least a 300-foot buffer should be maintained between 
each burn pit and the closest occupied dwelling.

• Visible emissions limited to 10% opacity (excluding 45 
minute start-up period).

• Prior notification and DAQ approval required before use.
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Air Curtain Burners
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Restrictions for air curtain burner use in NC include:

• Manufacturer’s specifications must be kept on site.

• Burning hours limited to between 8:00 am and 6:00 pm.

• Material should not protrude above the air curtain.

• Ash should not be allowed to build up in the pit so that it 
impedes combustion (<1/3 the depth of the pit).

• Operator must allow ash to cool and then water ash prior 
to removal from pit.

• No burning on Air Quality Action Days (Code Orange or 
higher).
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Air Curtain Burners
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Properly Operating Improperly Operating
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Recent Legislative Actions
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The NC open burning rules have been modified through the 
recent passage of the following state laws:

• Session Law 2011-394 (House Bill 119) - reduces land 
clearing setback requirement from 1,000 to 500 feet.

• Session Law 2013-413 (House Bill 74) - allows for the 
transport of land clearing debris to another location to burn 
as long as the following conditions are met:
Location is not a permitted solid waste management site.
Burning at new location is limited to four times per year.
There are no more than two 20-foot diameter piles onsite.
At least a 500-foot buffer is maintained between each 

burn pile and the closest occupied dwelling. 
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Recent Legislative Actions
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The NC open burning rules have been modified through the 
recent passage of the following state laws:

• Session Law 2014-120 (Senate Bill 734) - allows for 
residential burning of logs and stumps and declares this 
type of burning cannot be considered a nuisance. 

• Session Law 2015-286 (House Bill 765) - allows for the 
burning of polyethylene agricultural plastics used in 
connection with agricultural operations under certain 
conditions.
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Air Quality Forecast Areas
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NC Open Burning Rules
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On Code Orange, Red, or Purple days in a specific air 
quality forecast area, you cannot burn the following:

• Yard waste

• Land clearing debris

• Natural disaster material

• Most types of open burning with a couple of exceptions

DAQ recommends no burning throughout the rest of the 
state on Code Orange, Red, or Purple days. 
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DAQ Contact Information
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Steve Hall, Compliance Supervisor 
Raleigh Regional Office
steve.hall@ncdenr.gov

919-791-4286

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality


