

ROY COOPER Governor MICHAEL S. REGAN Secretary

September 17, 2019

Bly Hall, Assistant Revisor of Statutes North Carolina General Assembly 300 N. Salisbury St, Suite 401 Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

## Subject: Certification of U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's (USEPA) Final Approval to Change the Vehicle Model Year Coverage for 22 Counties Subject to North Carolina's Motor Vehicle Emissions Inspection and Maintenance (I&M) Program

Dear Ms. Hall:

During the 2017 session, the North Carolina General Assembly enacted Session Law 2017-10, Senate Bill 131 (An Act to Provide Further Regulatory Relief to the Citizens of North Carolina). Section 3.5.(b) of the Act amended North Carolina General Statute §20-183.2(b) by proposing to change the vehicle model year coverage for 22 counties subject to the I&M program to (i) a vehicle with a model year within 20 years of the current year and older than the three most recent model years, or (ii) a vehicle with a model year within 20 years of the current year and has 70,000 miles or more on its odometer.

Per Section 3.5.(d)(2) of the Act, the change to the vehicle model year coverage of the I&M program is effective the first day of a month that is 60 days after the Secretary of the Department of Environmental Quality certifies to the Revisor of Statutes that the USEPA has approved an amendment to the North Carolina State Implementation Plan requesting the change to the vehicle model year coverage for the 22 counties subject to the program.

In accordance with Section 3.5.(d)(2) of the Act, I hereby certify to the Revisor of Statutes that the USEPA published in the *Federal Register* on Wednesday, September 11, 2019, its final approval (effective Friday, October 11, 2019) of an amendment to the North Carolina State Implementation Plan to change the vehicle model year coverage, as specified in Section 3.5.(b) of the Act, for the following 22 counties: Alamance, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Cumberland, Davidson, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Johnston, Lee, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, New Hanover, Onslow, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Union, and Wake. The effective date for implementing the changes to the vehicle model year coverage for the 22 counties listed above is December 1, 2019.



North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality 217 West Jones Street | 1601 Mail Service Center | Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1601 919.707.8600 If you should have any questions, please contact Michael A. Abraczinskas at (919) 707-8447 or Michael.Abraczinskas@ncdenr.gov.

Sincevely, C

Michael S. Regan, Secretary Department of Environmental Quality

cc: James H. Trogdon, Secretary of Transportation Torre Jessup, Commissioner, Division of Motor Vehicles Michael Abraczinskas, Director, Division of Air Quality Sheila Holman, Assistant Secretary for Environment



North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality 217 West Jones Street | 1601 Mail Service Center | Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1601 919.707.8600