MEMORANDUM

TO:

Marion Deerhake, Chair Chris Ayers Marvin Cavanaugh Thomas F. Cecich Les Hall Dr. Ernest W. Larkin Jeff Morse Darryl D. Moss Dr. David B. Peden Stephen Smith

FROM:

Sheila Holman

SUBJECT:

January 2012, Air Quality Committee Meeting

The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room from 2:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. on January 11, 2012. Please note that the meeting time is

2:30 P.M.*

* If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, subsequently scheduled committee meeting *may* be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting has adjourned.

Items marked with an asterisk (*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 707-8430 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we may be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

CALL TO ORDER (Marion Deerhake)

1. Call to Order and The State Government Ethics Act, N.C.G.S. § 138A-15(e)[PDF]

MINUTES (Marion Deerhake)

2. Review and Approval of November Meeting Minutes[PDF]

CONCEPTS (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)

- 3. Revisions to New Source Review (NSR) and Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) Nitrogen Oxides (NOx) Significance Level for PM2.5 (512)[PDF]
- 4. Revision of Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) Reasonably Available Control Technology (RACT) Rules Applicability (513)[PDF]

DRAFT RULES

5. Request for Adoption of Amendments to Open Burning Rules to Incorporate Session Law 2011-394 Requirements (507) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)[PDF] [PDF]

JANUARY EMC AGENDA ITEMS

6. < Request for Adoption of Amendments to Open Burning Rules to Incorporate Session Law 2011-394 Requirements (507) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)

INFORMATION ITEMS

- 7. < Update on Implementation of Ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) (Laura Boothe, DAQ) [Ozone Update]
- 8. < Update on Air Quality Modeling Results for Mercury Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) (Laura Boothe, DAQ) [Mercury Update]
- 9. < Director's Remarks (Sheila Holman, DAQ)
- 10. * 1995-2012 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar [PDF]
- 11. * Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development[PDF]
- 12. *< Next Meeting March 7, 2012, (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Division of Air Quality web site <u>Public Notices</u>. This web site also has many other useful features.

CC:	Other EMC Members Frank Crawley Allen Jernigan Dee Freeman Robin Smith	Don van der Vaart Jim Roller William Willets John Evans Lee Daniel	Mike Abraczinskas Laura Boothe Joelle Burleson Glenn Sappie Vladimir Zaytsev
	5		
	0		
	Dee Freeman	John Evans	11
	Robin Smith	Lee Daniel	Vladimir Zaytsev
	Mary Penny Thompson	Lori Cherry	Patrick Knowlson
	Diana Kees	Gary Saunders	Reginald Jordan
	Lois Thomas	Michael Pjetraj	Sushma Masmore
	Sheila Holman	Brian Phillips	Regional DAQ Supervisors
	Tom Mather	Donnie Redmond	Local Programs