### MEMORANDUM

#### TO:

Marion Deerhake, Chair Chris Ayers Marvin Cavanaugh Thomas F. Cecich Les Hall Dr. Ernest W. Larkin Jeff Morse Darryl D. Moss Amy Pickle Dr. David B. Peden Stephen Smith

### FROM:

Sheila Holman SUBJECT: July 2012 Air Quality Committee Meeting

The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room from 10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. on July 11, 2012. Please note that the meeting time is

#### 10:00 A.M.\*

\* If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, subsequently scheduled committee meeting *may* be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting has adjourned.

The Air Quality Committee meeting audio and presentations are also broadcast as a webinar for those who cannot attend in person. To join the meeting, go to <u>https://denr.ncgovconnect.com/emc/</u> and log in using your North Carolina Identity Management (NCID) and password or if you do not have an NCID, enter as a guest.

Items marked with an asterisk (\*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 707-8430 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we may be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

# CALL TO ORDER (Marion Deerhake)

1. Call to Order and The State Government Ethics Act, N.C.G.S. § 138A-15(e)[PDF]

# MINUTES (Marion Deerhake)

2. Review and Approval of May Meeting Minutes[PDF]

### CONCEPTS

3. Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) Rule PM2.5 Increment Update(516)(John Evans, DAQ) [PDF] [PPTX]

# **DRAFT RULES**

None

# JULY EMC AGENDA ITEMS

4. Final Report of the Division of Air Quality to the Environmental Management Commission on the Control of Mercury Emissions from Coal-Fired Electric Steam Generating Units (Steve Schliesser, DAQ) [PDF] [PDF] [PPTX]

# **INFORMATION ITEMS**

- 5. Proposed Fine Particulate Matter (PM2.5) National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) (Donnie Redmond, DAQ) [PPTX]
- 6. Air Toxics Legislation (Michael Abraczinskas, DAQ) [PPT]
- 7. Director's Remarks (Sheila Holman, DAQ)
  - Croatan Fire
  - Air Quality Studies Required Under Shale Gas Legislation
  - Proposed Portland Cement Maximum Achievable Control Technology (MACT)Revisions
  - Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Court Ruling
- 8. \* 1995-2013 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar [PDF]
- 9. \* Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development[PDF]
- 10. \* Next Meeting September 12, 2012, (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Division of Air Quality web site <u>Public Notices</u>. This web site also has many other useful features.

CC:	Other EMC Members Frank Crawley Allen Jernigan Dee Freeman Robin Smith Mary Penny Thompson William Cary Diana Kees	Don van der Vaart William Willets John Evans Lee Daniel Lori Cherry Gary Saunders Michael Pjetraj	Mike Abraczinskas Laura Boothe Sushma Masemore Joelle Burleson Glenn Sappie Vladimir Zaytsev Patrick Knowlson Robin Barrows
	Lois Thomas Sheila Holman Tom Mather	Brian Phillips Donnie Redmond	Regional DAQ Supervisors Local Programs