#### MEMORANDUM

#### TO:

Marion Deerhake, Chair Chris Ayers Marvin Cavanaugh Thomas F. Cecich Les Hall Dr. Ernest W. Larkin Jeff Morse Darryl D. Moss Dr. David B. Peden Stephen Smith

# FROM:

Sheila Holman SUBJECT: March 2012 Air Quality Committee Meeting

The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room from 10:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. on March 7, 2012. Please note that the meeting time is

#### 10:00 A.M.\*

\* If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, subsequently scheduled committee meeting *may* be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting has adjourned.

Items marked with an asterisk (\*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 707-8430 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we may be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

# CALL TO ORDER (Marion Deerhake)

1. Call to Order and The State Government Ethics Act, N.C.G.S. § 138A-15(e)[PDF]

#### MINUTES (Marion Deerhake)

2. Review and Approval of January Meeting Minutes[PDF]

# CONCEPTS (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)

- 3. Revise Arsenic Acceptable Ambient Level (514) (Reginald Jordan, DAQ)[PDF]
- 4. Revise General Conformity Determination Rule to Update Outdated Federal Crossreferences and Update Applicability (515) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ) [PDF]

#### **DRAFT RULES**

5. Clarification of 2Q .0102 Permitting Exemption (509) (Patrick Knowlson, DAQ)[PDF]

# MARCH EMC AGENDA ITEMS

None

# **INFORMATION ITEMS**

- 6. < Overview of Ambient Monitoring (Donnie Redmond, DAQ)[Presentation]
- 7. < Update on Boiler MACT (Steve Schleisser, DAQ) [PDF] [Presentation]
- 8. < Science Advisory Board Update (Reginald Jordan, DAQ)
- 9. < Director's Remarks (Mike Abraczinskas, DAQ)
- 10. \* 1995-2013 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar [PDF]
- 11. \* Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development[PDF]
- 12. \*< Next Meeting May 9, 2012, (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Division of Air Quality web site <u>Public Notices</u>. This web site also has many other useful features.

CC:	Other EMC Members Frank Crawley Allen Jernigan Dee Freeman Robin Smith Mary Penny Thompson Diana Kees	Don van der Vaart Jim Roller William Willets John Evans Lee Daniel Lori Cherry Gary Saunders	Mike Abraczinskas Laura Boothe Joelle Burleson Glenn Sappie Vladimir Zaytsev Patrick Knowlson Reginald Jordan
	Diana Kees Lois Thomas	Gary Saunders Michael Pjetraj	Reginald Jordan Sushma Masmore
	Sheila Holman	Brian Phillips	Regional DAQ Supervisors
	Tom Mather	Donnie Redmond	Local Programs