#### **MEMORANDUM**

- TO: Charles Carter, Chair Gerard Carroll Dr. Lawrence Raymond E. O. Ferrell Steven Rowlan Steve Tedder John D. Solomon Clyde E. Smith, Jr.
- FROM: Sheila Holman, Director Division of Air Quality

SUBJECT: May 2016 Air Quality Committee Meeting

The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room from 11:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. on May 11, 2016. Please note that the meeting time is

11:00 A.M.<sup>1</sup>

<sup>1</sup>If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, the subsequently scheduled committee meeting *may* be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting is adjourned.

Meeting audio and presentations will be broadcast via the state web conferencing link posted on the <u>Environmental Management Commission website</u>.

Items marked with an asterisk (\*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 707-8430 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we can be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

### CALL TO ORDER (E.O. Ferrell)

1. Call to Order and the <u>State Government Ethics Act, N.C.G.S. § 138A-15(e)</u>

### MINUTES (E.O. Ferrell)

2. Review and Approval of <u>March Meeting Minutes</u>

# CONCEPTS

3. <u>Revisions to Address Sewage Sludge Incinerator Emissions Guidelines Federal</u> <u>Plan (497a) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)</u>

DRAFT RULES (Action Items)

4. <u>Revision of Odor Control of Feed Ingredient Manufacturing Plants Rule per S.L. 2015-</u> 263 (536) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)

## MAY EMC AGENDA ITEMS

5. Request to Proceed to Hearing on <u>Startup, Shutdown, and Malfunction (SSM) State</u> Implementation Plan (SIP) Call Rule Revisions (533) (Michael Pjetraj, DAQ)

### INFORMATION ITEMS

6.< Director's Remarks (Sheila Holman, DAQ)

7.\* <u>1995-2016 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission</u> <u>Calendar</u>

8.\* <u>Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development</u>

9.< Next Regular Meeting July 13, 2016 (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Division of Air Quality web site at <u>https://deq.nc.gov/news/events</u>. The web site also has many other useful features.

### Attachments

cc:

Other EMC Members Jennie Hauser Amy Bircher Don van der Vaart Tom Reeder Sam M. Hayes

William Willets Lee Daniel Michael Pjetraj Lori Cherry Gary Saunders Brian Phillips Vladimir Zaytsev Patrick Knowlson Robin Barrows Randy Strait Local Programs Regional DAQ Supervisors Lois Thomas Sheila Holman Tom Mather Mike Abraczinskas John Evans Donnie Redmond Sushma Masemore Joelle Burleson Glenn Sappie Booker Pullen Mark Cuilla