M E M O R A N D U M

TO: Dr. Stan Meiburg, Chair Charles Carter, Vice-Chair Gerard Carroll Marion Deerhake Dr. Suzanne Lazorick Julie Wilsey John D. Solomon, EMC Chair

FROM: Mike Abraczinskas, Director Division of Air Quality

SUBJECT: May 2018 Air Quality Committee Meeting

The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room on May 9, 2018. Please note that the meeting time is:

10:30 A.M. - 11:30 A.M.¹

¹If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, the subsequently scheduled committee meeting may be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting is adjourned.

Meeting audio and presentations will be broadcast via the state web conferencing link posted on the Environmental Management Commission website at <u>https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-resources-</u> <u>commissions/environmental-management-commission</u>.

Items marked with an asterisk (*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 707-8447 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we can be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

CALL TO ORDER (Chairman Meiburg)

1. General Statute § 138A-15 mandates that the Chairman inquire as to whether any member knows of any known conflict of interest or appearance of conflict with respect to matters before the Commission. If any member knows of a conflict of interest or appearance of a conflict, please so state at this time.

MINUTES (Chairman Meiburg)

2. <u>Review and Approval of March 2018 Meeting Minutes</u>

CONCEPTS

3. None

DRAFT RULES

4. None

INFORMATION ITEMS

5. Update on CO2 Recommendations (Sushma Masemore, DAQ)

PRESENTATION

MAY EMC AGENDA ITEMS

6.* <u>Request Adoption of Rule Revisions to Incorporate Federal Emission Guidelines and Rule</u> <u>Readoption of Commercial and Industrial Solid Waste Incinerator (CISWI) Rule 15A NCAC</u> 02D .1210 and Final Approval of Regulatory Impact Analysis (539) (Brad Nelson, DAQ)

7* <u>Request Adoption of Rule Revisions to Incorporate Session Law 2017-10 Requirements</u> and Rule Readoption of Motor Vehicle Inspection/Maintenance (I/M) Rules in 15A NCAC 02D Section .1000 and Final Approval of Fiscal Note (544) (Rahat Ashique, DAQ)

8* <u>Request Readoption of Group 3 Air Quality Rules 15A NCAC 02D .1201-.1203, .1205-</u>.1208, and .1211-.1212 and 2D Section .1100 and 02Q Section .0700 and Final Approval of Regulatory Impact Analysis (543) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)

9* <u>Request Final Approval of Adjusted Effective Date for Startup, Shutdown, and</u> <u>Malfunction (SSM) Rules 15A NCAC 02D .0535 and .0545</u> (545) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)

INFORMATION ITEMS

10.< Director's Remarks (Mike Abraczinskas, DAQ)

11.* 1995-2018 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar

12.* Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development

13.< Next Regular Meeting July 13, 2018 (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Department of Environmental Quality web site at <u>http://deq.nc.gov/news/events</u>. The web site also has many other useful features.

Attachments

cc: Other EMC Members Michael Regan Randy Strait John A. Nicholson Sheila Holman William Lane Brenda Menard Asher Spiller Mike Abraczinskas Michael Pjetraj Sushma Masemore

William Willets Steve Hall Patrick Butler Joelle Burleson Mark Cuilla Booker Pullen Rahul Thaker Brian Phillips Patrick Knowlson Vladimir Zaytsev

Gary Saunders Brad Nelson Rahul Thaker Lois Thomas Phillip Reynolds Local Programs Regional DAQ Supervisors