MEMORANDUM

TO: Dr. Stan Meiburg, Chair Charles Carter, Vice-Chair Gerard Carroll Marion Deerhake Dr. Suzanne Lazorick Clyde E. Smith, Jr. John D. Solomon

FROM: Mike Abraczinskas, Director Division of Air Quality

SUBJECT: September 2017 Air Quality Committee Meeting

The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room on September 13, 2017. Please note that the meeting time is

9:00 A.M. - 10:00 A.M.¹

¹If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, the subsequently scheduled committee meeting may be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting is adjourned.

Meeting audio and presentations will be broadcast via the state web conferencing link posted on the Environmental Management Commission website at <u>https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-resources-</u> commissions/environmental-management-commission.

Items marked with an asterisk (*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 707-8447 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we can be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

CALL TO ORDER (Stan Meiburg)

1. General Statute § 138A-15 mandates that the Chairman inquire as to whether any member knows of any known conflict of interest or appearance of conflict with respect to matters before the Commission. If any member knows of a conflict of interest or appearance of a conflict, please so state at this time.

MINUTES (Stan Meiburg)

2. <u>Review and Approval of July 2017 Meeting Minutes</u>

CONCEPTS

3. <u>Startup, Shutdown and Malfunction (SSM) SIP Call Temporary Rule</u> / <u>Presentation</u> (545) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)

DRAFT RULES

4. <u>Request for Approval of Proposed Rule Revisions and to Proceed to EMC for Approval to</u> <u>Proceed to Public Hearing on Proposed Rule Revisions on Session Law 2013-413 (H74)</u> <u>Readoption of Group 3 Air Quality Rules 15A NCAC 02D .1100, .1201-.1203, .1205-.1208, and</u> <u>.1211-.1212 and 02Q Section .0700 / Presentation (543) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)</u>

5. <u>Request for Approval of Proposed Rule Revisions and to Proceed to EMC for Approval to</u> <u>Proceed to Public Hearing on Inspection/Maintenance (I/M) Rules to Incorporate Session Law</u> 2017-10 Section 3.5 Applicability to Vehicles with Model Year within 20 Years of Current Year and for Readoption of 15A NCAC 02D Section .1000 / Fiscal Note / Presentation (544) (Sushma Masemore, DAQ)

SEPTEMBER EMC AGENDA ITEMS

6.* None

INFORMATION ITEMS

7.< Director's Remarks (Mike Abraczinskas, DAQ)

8.* <u>1995-2017 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar</u>

9.* Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development

10.< Next Regular Meeting November 8, 2017 (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Department of Environmental Quality web site at <u>http://deq.nc.gov/news/events</u>. The web site also has many other useful features.

Attachments

cc: Other EMC Members Michael Regan John A. Nicholson Sheila Holman William Lane Amy Bircher Asher Spiller Mike Abraczinskas Michael Pjetraj Sushma Masemore John Evans William Willets Don van der Vaart

Lori Cherry Randy Strait Joelle Burleson Mark Cuilla Robin Barrows Booker Pullen Brian Phillips Patrick Knowlson Vladimir Zaytsev

Gary Saunders Rahul Thaker Lois Thomas Jennie Hauser Local Programs Regional DAQ Supervisors