Environmental Management Commission

The Environmental Management Commission is a 15-member Commission appointed by the Governor, the Senate Pro Tempore and the Speaker of the House. The Commission is responsible for adopting rules for the protection, preservation and enhancement of the state's air and water resources. Commission members are chosen to represent various interests, including the medical profession, agriculture, engineering, fish and wildlife, groundwater, air and water pollution control, municipal or county government and the public at large. The Commission oversees and adopts rules for several divisions of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, including the Divisions of Air Quality, Land Resources, Water Quality and Water Resources.

The Environmental Management Commission generally meets on the second Thursday of January, March, May, July, September and November.  In addition, the Commission Chairman may call special meetings as necessary. The EMC has six committees (Air Quality, Groundwater, NPDES, Executive, Water Allocation and Water Quality) which generally meet on the day before full commission meetings; click here for agendas including scheduled locations, dates and times of meetings.

For upcoming future items, you may view the EMC Agenda Item Spreadsheet (subject to change) for the Environmental Management Commission: click here

The meetings will be open to the public.  All meetings will be held in the Archdale Building in the Ground Floor Hearing Room at 512 N. Salisbury St., Raleigh. 

The North Carolina Environmental Management Commission committee meetings will be held beginning at 9:00 a.m. on Wednesday, September 13, 2017.

The Full Commission meeting will be held at 9:00 a.m. Thursday, September 14, 2017.

The web conferencing link instructions are as follows:

Link for Committee meetings :

To gain access please use password:  1234

Link for Full EMC Meeting

To gain access please use password:  1234


To receive emails concerning when EMC meetings will occur, send a blank email to:

For information regarding the committees please contact:

Air Quality Committee

Joelle Burleson

(919) 707-8720

Groundwater & Waste Mgmt Committee

Mary Johnson

(919) 707-8236

NPDES Committee

Julie Grzyb

(919) 807-6390

Water Allocation Committee (Water Allocation Committee)(link is external)

Kim Nimmer

(919) 707-9019

Water Quality Committee

Adriene Weaver

(919) 807-6414


For more information regarding the Environmental Management Commission, please contact:

Lois Thomas
EMC Recording Clerk
Directors Office
Division of Water Resources 
1617 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1617

Phone: (919) 707-9023
Fax:   (919) 733-3558

Mailing Address:

1617 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1617
Street Address:

512 North Salisbury Street
Raleigh, NC 27604