Past winning educators pictured at the 2014 N.C. Science Teachers Association Professional Development Institute. Front row (L-R): Mark Case, Tim Martin, Kathy Bosiak, Dr. Judy McDonald. Back row (L-R): Cynthia Woolery, Josh Roberts, Sam Fuerst, Anne McClung, Cliff Hudson, Mark Townley, Carrie Jones.

2017 OEST Southeastern Section and State Winner: Ms. Annette Bartlett, Harris Road Middle School, Cabarrus County
2017 OESE State Winner: Ms. Jennifer Brooks, Durham County Soil and Water Conservation District

2016 OEST Southeastern Section and State Winner: Ms. Lindsay Knippenberg, Mooresville Senior High School, Iredell County
2016 OESE State Winner: Mr. Roger Shew, UNC-Wilmington, New Hanover County

2015 OEST State Winner: Ms. Rebekah Fuerst, Parkwood Middle School, Union County
2015 OESE State Winner: Ms. Jo Wallace, J.Y. Joyner Elementary Magnet School, Wake County

2014 OEST State Winner: Mr. Mark Townley, Holly Springs High School, Wake County
2014 OESE State Winner: Ms. Cynthia Woolery, Elizabeth Traditional Elementary, Mecklenburg County

2013 OEST State Winner: Ms. Mary Catherine Mills Dillon, Southern Guilford High School, Guilford County
2013 OESE State Winner: Ms. Mary Engleman, Bowley Elementary 
2012 OEST State Winner: Ms. Beverly Owens, Crest Middle School, Cleveland County
2012 OESE State Winner: Dr. Judy McDonald, Belmont Abbey College, Gaston County 

2011 OEST State Winner: Mr. Tim Martin, Greensboro Day School, Guilford County
2011 OESE State Winner: Dr. Andy Heckert, Appalachian State University, Watauga County

2010 OEST State Winner:  Mr. Joshua Roberts, Northern High School, Durham County

*Note: In 2009 the award names were changed. The Traditional Teacher became Outstanding Earth Science Teacher. The Non-Traditional Educator became Outstanding Earth Science Educator. 

2009  OEST Southeastern Section and State Winner: Mr. Cliff Hudson, Williamston High School, Martin County
2009  OESE State Winner: Ms. Sarah K. Yelton, Office of EE, DENR, Wake County 

2008  Traditional Teacher State Winner: Mr. Rob Greenberg, Chapel Hill High School, Orange County

2007 Traditional Teacher State Winner: Mr. Sam Fuerst, Northern High School, Durham County

2006 Traditional Teacher State Winner: Ms. Carrie A. Jones, Middle Creek High School, Wake County

2005 Traditional Teacher State Winner: Mrs. Kathy Bosiak,  Lincolnton High School, Lincoln County
2005 Honorable Mention Traditional Teacher: Mr. Kelly J. Ruff,  Hickory High School, Catawba County
2005 Non-Traditional Educator State Winner: Mr. Mark H. Case Sr., Woodmen of the World, Randolph County

2001 Traditional Teacher State Winner: Ms. Lynne Tesh Gronback, McDougle Middle School, Orange County

2000 Outstanding Classroom Teacher State Winner: Mr. Richard Y. Hilliard, North Henderson High School, Vance County
2000 Outstanding Educator in a Non-Traditional Setting State Winner:  Mr. William (Rocky) Fulp II, Minerals Research Laboratory, Buncombe County

1992 Outstanding Classroom Teacher State Winner: Ms. Ann McClung, South Central High School, Pitt County

The teacher award program through NAGT started in 1971. If you have information about other winners, please contact