Outstanding Educator Awards

The North Carolina Outstanding Earth Science Teacher (OEST) Award and the Outstanding Earth Science Educator (OESE) Award recognize the exceptional efforts by North Carolina Teachers and Educators to inspire learning and interest in the earth sciences.  Click the Awards Program Description link below for information on who should apply, the prizes to be awarded, and the timeline for nominations.

OEST and OESE Awards will resume in 2022.  Keep checking our website for updated information.  Nominations for the 2022 Awards are expected to be due in March 2022 with winners expected to be announced in late summer/early fall 2022.

2022 Nominations

If you know of an outstanding earth science teacher or educator, please complete and submit the nomination form. You may also nominate yourself. 

Nomination Form

Awards Program Description

OEST award winners are automatically considered for sectional honors in the Southeastern NAGT competition. Previous winners are not eligible to enter. All nominations will be kept on file and eligible for three years. Supplemental materials may be submitted. For more information on the awards and nomination process, please see the awards program description.

2018 Award Winners

N.C. Outstanding Earth Science Teacher
Phillip Cox
Northwood High School, Chatham County
N.C. Outstanding Earth Science Educator
Krista Brinchek
Abbotts Creek Elementary School, Wake County

Previous Award Winners