Coastal Resources Commission

The Coastal Resources Commission, or CRC, was created when the General Assembly adopted the Coastal Area Management Act (CAMA) in 1974. The CRC establishes policies for the N.C. Coastal Management Program and adopts rules for both CAMA and the N.C. Dredge and Fill Act. The commission designates areas of environmental concern, adopts rules and policies for coastal development within those areas, and certifies local land use plans.

The CRC consists of 13 members appointed by the Governor, the Speaker of the House, the Senate President Pro Tempore and the Commissioner of Insurance. Nine of the 13 members must have experience in a particular area of expertise, including land development, coastal engineering, marine science, coastal-related business, local government, coastal agriculture, commercial fishing, coastal forestry, sports fishing, and wildlife. Four members are appointed at-large. To see the internal operating procedures of the commission, please see the 2023 Bylaws

The Division of Coastal Management provides staffing services to the CRC, implements CRC rules and issues CAMA permits.

CRC Members                                                                         CRC Recent Actions