Cape Fear River Basin Documents

Cape Fear Basin

Cape Fear RBRP Overview

The Cape Fear is one of four river basins entirely contained within North Carolina’s borders. The river is formed by the Deep, Rocky and Haw rivers, which converge in Chatham County just below the B. Everett Jordan Dam. The river ends in 32,000 acres of estuary near Southport.

A number of large cities are located within the basin, including Greensboro, High Point, Burlington, Durham, Fayetteville and Wilmington. The basin covers more than 9,300 square miles, making it the state’s largest.  It encompasses 281 HUs that range in size from two to 139 square miles, falling within six eight-digit CUs.  The basin includes all or portions of 26 counties and 2000 population of about 3.6 million is projected to grow to roughly 5.2 million by 2020.

Cape Fear RBRP Documents

2009 Cape Fear RBRP

03030002/03030003 Cape Fear Regional Watershed Plan

03030002 - Morgan and Little Creeks LWP

03030002 - Little Alamance, Travis and Tickle Creeks LWP

03030002 -Troublesome & Ltl. Troublesome Creeks LWP

03030003 - Upper and Middle Rocky River LWP

03030004 - Cranes Creek LWP

03030004 - Middle Cape Fear / Kenneth and Parker Creeks LWP

03030006 - Great Coharie Creek LWP

03030007 - New Hanover County LWP