Water Pollution Control System Operators Certification Commission


Quarterly Meetings - Open to the Public

Archdale Building: 512 N. Salisbury St., Raleigh, NC  27604 - Ground Floor Hearing Room - 10 AM. (See meeting schedule at bottom of page.)

Do you know a wastewater operator that demonstrates excellence?

Please consider nominating them for the: 2023 WILBUR E. LONG AWARD NOMINATION FORM


The purpose of the Commission, found in rule 15A NCAC 08G .0101, is to:

  • protect public health
  • conserve, protect, and maintain the quality water resources
  • protect public investment in water pollution control systems
  • provide for classification of water pollution control systems
  • establish procedures for examination and certification of operators of water pollution control systems


Commission membership

The WPCSOCC is codified in NC General Statutes 143B-300 and 143B-301. The WPCSOCC consists of 11 members, 9 appointed by the Secretary of Environmental Quality with the approval of the Environmental Management Commission and 2 appointed by the Commissioner of Agriculture.

 Commission Members, with qualifying criteria
NC DEQ staff working in the field of water pollution control:
W. Corey Basinger, Chair, NC DEQ Operations Manager, Division of Water Infrastructure
Commercial water pollution control system operating firm:
Steve Barry, AQWA, Inc.
Collection system operator or superintendent for a municipality:
Ken Stines, Metropolitan Sewerage District Buncombe Co.
Four-year college or university whose major field is wastewater treatment:
Dr. A. Robert Rubin, N.C. State University
Operators of water pollution control systems of a municipality:
Arnold E. Allred, City of Franklinville
Martie Groome, City of Greensboro
Managers of a municipality:
Marchell Adams-David, City of Raleigh
Jonathan Russell, City of Washington
Animal agriculture industry:
W. Chester Lowder, Vice-Chair, N.C. Farm Bureau Federation
Jim Lynch, Goldsboro Milling Company
Private industry and responsible for treatment of industrial wastewater:
Matthew A. Haynes, Valley Proteins, Inc.


  • 1969: Established by the North Carolina General Assembly.
  • Originally called the Wastewater Treatment Plant Operators Board of Certification.
  • Consists of an eleven member board (originally seven) appointed by the Department of Environmental Quality (NCDEQ) with the approval of the Environmental Management Commission.
  • 1993: Duties of the Certification Commission expanded to include the training and certification of operators of wastewater collection systems, spray irrigation systems, subsurface treatment and dispersal systems, and land application of residuals sites. Two new members with experience in these fields were added.
  • 1996: Added the training and certification of operators of animal wastewater pollution control systems to the duties of the Certification Commission. Two new members were appointed by the Commissioner of Agriculture to represent the animal agriculture industry.


Agendas and Meeting Summaries

2023 November 3      
2023 August 11 agenda   meeting materials
2023 May 12 agenda meeting summary  
2023 February 10 agenda meeting summary  
2022 November 4 agenda  meeting summary  
2022 August 12   meeting summary  
2022 May 12   meeting summary  
2022 February 11   meeting summary